Easily Defiled but Not Broken


I haven’t posted much of anything lately, but I had a quick break and figured I would share what helped me make it through the Lich King and all his Defiles.  And for those who haven’t killed him yet, I hope my tips will help you and your guild make it through.  I think I got like three of those Defile things last night- and I didn’t wipe the raid!  It’s a miracle!  LOL

I remember writing more than a month ago that this fight and the Defiles was all about pre-moving.  I still believe this is true, but let me take you step by step of how I deal with this phase of the fight.  TankSpot is spot on when the guide says, “Phase 2 is all about handling defiles and proper slows.”  To avoid wiping the raid (fingers crossed everytime) and possibly being docked DKP, I did the following:

  • DBM… duh… 🙂  DBM warns when LK begins to cast Defile.  It will also tell you who he targets when he targets them and put a symbol over their head.
  • FOCUS FRAME:  If you look at the pic here, you will notice that my focus frame of the Lich King is right over my healing mod. This allows me to see who the Lich King targets as he begns to cast defile.  If it’s me, I body-and-soul AWAY from the raid.  Originally, the raid leader designated NORTH as the drop off point, but we soon abandoned that for “use-your-brain-in-your-situation-and-don’t-wipe-the raid”-type stategy.
  • DefileWhisper:  This is a mod available on Curse.com.  It whispers anyone that LK casts Defile on.  I don’t know that it helped me that much, but it did whisper all targets.  Maybe it helped them.  (Click on the name to download it.)
  • AVR: I know this mod (also available on Curse) does not work in this encounter; however, the GM made a map of the preferred drop zones to the north of the raid.  These circles were to the right and left of the portal in the back of the room. Get this, too: AVR Boss Encounters (Click on the name to download it.)  UPDATE:  Blizz is killing this mod in Patch 3.3.5.  Too bad I just got the darn thing last week!
  • Chat Bubbles ON:  When someone says, “Defile on me!’ RUN away from them.  Common sense, right?
  • Zoom out!  Yeah, max cam distance on this one.  This allows you to get a good look at the room in its entirety, where you can run, and where the targets are- if you have good eyesight.

The very first Defile happens after the Valkyrs and after a good Infest.   We usually stay bunched up and really pray that the first person to get it won’t drop it in the middle of everyone.  For the rest of the Defiles, you really have to get the timing of them down.  You want to be bunched up for the Valkyr- and hope the raid can slow them and get them to drop the person before carrying them to their death.  And when the five-second countdown for Defile pops up EVERYBODY starts moving out.  If you are the target, you want to get away from people.  If you are not the target, pay attention so you can get away from the target without spreading purple death everywhere.  Also, try not to drop the DEFILE in the path of the Valkyr.  That sucks when they finally drop the person and they end up dying anyway. LOL

It took us a long time to kill this guy.  It was hard work but well worth the hours put in.  Now.. we get to start HEROIC.  Let the new adventure begin!

I hope this helps!  Feel free to leave your tips, too!  Even though I have not been around this blog- I always LOVE the new ideas!

Happy Raiding!

Exxy

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Soliss on May 27, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Ok that was awesome info. Somethings are so obvious like putting him on focus… D’oh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

