Judged By The Content Of My Character


Discrimination in real life is nothing to laugh at.  I know from my own experience that it can be painful.  Ever had to squeeze out a back bedroom window and run home as a child because your best friend’s father- who hated “your kind”- came home early from work?  So please don’t read too much into the title of this post, but it is exactly what happened to me in-game today.  The purpose of this post title is not to offend but just to show how real life and game stuff parallel.

So today, I was “judged” by a gear score add-on.  I don’t know which one.  The upside is I was on the “good” side of the judging but I am sure there are many more who end up being picked on for what their toon is wearing- literally the content of their gear.

Thanks.. I think.

I was in an LFG pug doing my heroic daily.  Everyone does the customary, “hellos,” when all the sudden I see, “nice gs exa.”  I was taken aback for a second.  I mean I downloaded ElitistGroups just to see how it worked, but I have never once really used it on anyone in a group.  I usually just come into an instance ready to heal or tank.  Never for a moment have I thought to check gear scores off the bat.

It got me to thinking.  How many other toons who may not be as well geared as Exanna get lol’d at everyday or rejected or maybe even left standing alone based on gear score alone?  I have to admit I looked at the tank’s 30k health and thought, “She must be new,” but I reserve any judgement about skills or gear until after the first boss.  I like to give people a chance.  Sure I kept pulling threat off of the toon, but we made it.  Thank goodness.. even after I said, “one sec,” stepped away, and the tank pulled anyway.

I would like to write, “Even in the World of Warcraft, people will find ways to judge you.”  But is there really a need for the word “even?”  I mean- in the words of the ESPN boys- come on, man.  We all know this happens everyday in WoW.  It just surprises me that people do this in the same five-mans that many of us geared up in from the start.

Oh, how soon we forget where we came from!  Remember those days of running Nexus every single friggin’ day hoping the War Mace of Unrequited Love would drop for you!?!  It really hurt me one time when it finally dropped and a caster won the roll.  I eventually got it and moved on just like so many of our under-geared counterparts will in the future. 

So, please, give the novice toons a chance- and stop being in awe of high gear scores!  Please!  It means nothing if the real person on the other end has no idea what they are doing.  Right?  I mean it could be an absolutely over-geared toon of a player who just bought it one hour before.. or it could be me playing my husband’s mage.  Yeah, that’s a story there.  He told me what buttons to push, but I forgot!  The group complained because my DPS was like 1200.  LOL  I guess they looked at his GS and wondered, “WTF is he doing!?!”  I explained to them, “hey, I don’t know WTF I am doing,” and why.  They helped me get better by telling me “WTF to do.”  So by the end, I learned a little bit about a mage.  I also realized people can be forgiving and helpful.

So before you judge a book by its cover, give the person or toon a chance to prove themselves.  And if you can help them- and if they will accept the help- at least try.  Otherwise, leave the gear score checks for raid time.  You know like 10-mans and above?  That’s usually where gear can either hurt or help you.  But Blizzard has the 5-mans covered.  My DK couldn’t get into the new ICC five-mans for a while.  Why?  Because my gear wasn’t up to par.

Am I calling on people to be bleeding hearts and help the under-geared one dungeon at a time?  If you don’t have the patience for it, then go ahead and leave.  Desert us and get a 15 minute debuff.. lol.  The numbers may be right, but don’t let numbers cloud your vision.  Feedback, please!

Cue the "The More You Know" music, please.

This has been a message from the Exxy Network.

Happy Raiding!

Exxy

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by the artist FKA Tollenral on January 27, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Good stuff Ex!! Just accidentally stumbled on your blog, while searching for some WoW stuff. I’ll stop by regularly!

    Reply

  2. Hey, Toll! Small World and world… What server are you on now? Good to bump into you!
    .-= Exanna´s last blog ..Judged By The Content Of My Character =-.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Doug on January 27, 2010 at 11:18 am

    I check the GS of people I pug with, and form an initial opinion based on that. This opinion tells me how hard I have to try to down bosses, or how hard I can push other people. Some examples:
    Daily random heroic, I check the tank and let them know that they can chain pull; this saves me time, and makes for a happier tank. [interesting side story: I was told I had nice gear in a HNexus run on Monday. SO the 50k HP beartank decided to air on the side of caution and pulled one pull at a time. This was not cool with the rest of the group, so the hunter and rogue (from the same random guild) started chain MD+ToT pulling, and forcrd the bear to swipe his fuzzy behind off. Let me just say that 3 trash pulls and a boss at the same time actually makes healing heroics challenging again! end of side story]
    PUG ToC or ICC10/25, I inspect the other healers and tanks to see if it would be more beneficial to be Holy or Disc, and see how much “compensating” I will have to do. In this case, I can only expect so much of an undergeared player, and cant really expect performance on par with my own.

    Recently, I don’t feel bad about helping new players in blues/greens, as long as they don’t do anything dumb to get themselves AND me killed. What does tick me off is the sub 2k DPS players in FULL T9 who put no effort into it. Also, I have made MANY peoples’ ignore lists by trying to help them 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Secajisx :) on January 27, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Gearscore and addons like it are horrible horrible things.

    What people seem to miss this late in the expansion is that heriocs were not meant for just badges, they were and are there for people to get gear to gateway them into raiding.

    When I hit 80 back in the day (2 weeks after the xpac) heroics were there so the raiders who didn’t see T5-6 could get into Naxx. I remember constantly grinding to get my crossbow it felt rewarding, and then when I leveled my druid heroics were there to gear me up. No one cared about GS a heroic was a heroic.

    I have never judged someone based on a number, sure I get annoyed when people don’t gem/enchant their purples but I am very kind to people in greens and blues. My thought is if you have purples from raids you should know better and will be treated like a raider.

    People complain about pugged people in greens and blues because they “Make the run longer” if you want to have a quick run for your frost go with your guild, you can’t hold the same expectations on pugs and should be forgiving when it comes to gear.

    Reply

  5. Heya! I came across your blog, looking for best in slot stuff for Holy priests! Do you have any leads?

    Reply

  6. @ Doug.. “X” suggested boss chain-pulls to make it less boring. Haven’t had the guts to try that yet, but I agree with you. Mass pulls do give you a more challenging run.

    @ Seca.. hey guildie! Yes the greenies drag down the dps, but we were all pretty green at one point during our wow career, right? You are right about people should get a guild run if they want to burn thru stuff.

    @ Evilzug bobturkey.wordpress.com He’s made BiS lists for priests and posted them on his site.
    .-= Exanna´s last blog ..Judged By The Content Of My Character =-.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Soliss on February 6, 2010 at 2:10 am

    *nods* Some of the people we play with can be bad about this. I was in a group healing VH and a certain member was complaining that a pug was only doing “x” dps. I tried to remind them that they were probably a new 80 and weren’t STUPIDLY overgeared for the instance like the person taking was. But the snobishness and judgments re:gear can be bad.

    This is why I really don’t want to flash my new S:Priest about with her hobo gear and me not knowing my rotations yet or how to deal with trash etc. The mockery would just be stupedious I know it. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

