Human Nature


It’s just a game.  Right?  Yeah, but it’s something I really, really, really like to do- so much so- I have a blog, but at some point, you have to learn to separate the game from RL.  About a week ago I told you how bad I felt about missing a raid night.  😦  But now something else is bothering me, and it seems to be a constant these days.

In-Guild Strife.

I hear a good bit of “stuff” as an officer, I “see” a good bit of stuff as an officer, and I have come to a few conclusions.

  1. Yes, Virginia, you can know too much.  I am a really private person so people really don’t know that much about me personally (it’s by virtue of what I do), but there’s a lot of information I could go without.  Like the cyber of the week for instance or the fact that someone is near suicidal- which was the case in my previous guild (we had to run a vent intervention after he lost his wife because honestly, he was driving the membership crazy with his ups and downs.)  The only good thing about knowing this stuff is that you can expect drama to ensue from the cybering (I have seen a guild break up because of it) and you will know that Player X is having a hard time.  But imagine all of this flow of information flooding your tender ears and eyes.  It gets to be too much.
  2. It is hard to keep people happy.We all know this is true, and it’s usually two things that affect people the most.  Slotting and loot.  I guess I could throw badges in there, too.  I admit: I hate being left out.  Everyone does.  How you react to the situation says a lot though.  Over the years, I have seen more people apply to other guilds and /gquit in these instances than I can count on my two hands.  I saw my first guild split up because of it. That makes me sad.

So I have just been really bothered this week.  I am giving myself two options: ignore the drama or just stop giving a darn all the way around.  Are those the best solutions?  No.  I feel compelled to care, but my caring nature is pissing me off.  Let me know what you think…

Happy Raiding!

Exxy

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Doug on January 20, 2010 at 6:42 am

    So, what to do:
    Ignoring drama leads to being blindsided by the effects of it. Understanding the reason that there is drama is the key to minimizing that effect on you and your guild.

    I find that it is best to plan ahead and have something in place to handle these situations before they get out of hand. For example: ALL guilds do this to some degree with their loot policy because loot drama is inevitable. Other things to plan for: relationship failures, personality conflicts, RL issues, scheduling issues, attendence, etc.

    Keep on caring! Dont let inconsequential stuff in game get to you. Just do what you feel is right 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

