Festergut 10 Healing


So we downed Festergut on 10 last night.  I even took a picture.  Look!
 

Daddy.. I did it!

 Healing on this fight takes coordination of the healers

 We took two trees and me in there- which is a weird combo in my opinion but it was all we had to work with at the time.  One tree stayed out on the perimeter and healed the raid.  The other tree and I were in melee range healing the two tanks.  The tanks will take many stacks of Gastric Bloat.  Our 2 tanks were taking 9 stacks and then switching off.  10 stacks will cause Gastric Explosion which could wipe the raid.

We did wipe a few times at first, but it was not because of too many stacks.  It was because the other tank healer and I really needed to coordinate our heals so the tanks would not die.

This is the solution we came up with.  Once the main tank hit 6 stacks, I popped a renew on the off tank.  At 7 stacks, I popped a PoM and a bubble on the off tank.  Then at 8, I went ahead and switched my main heals to him.  At 9 stacks, the other healer switched too as soon as the boss’ target changed.  And then I repeated the same with the “new” off tank.

This coordination made this fight much easier to handle.   WoWWiki describes healing this fight like this:

This encounter is healing intensive. Healers should be constantly maintaining the health of the active tank, as well as repairing the encounter’s constant area damage from Gaseous Blight, and healing players infected with Vile Gas. It is worth noting that, as Festergut inhales, tank takes more damage while damage to the raid decreases (albeit disproportionately). Healers will need to be flexible as their role may somewhat change depending on the ratio of tank damage as opposed to raid damage.

This is so true as we found out last night.  You will have to heal going on anticipated damage.  Once you get the “rhythm” of healing down in this fight, it is smooth sailing with a few damage spikes along the way.  Just be ready for anything.  Because the hits by Uncle Fester and the stacks damage the tanks so quickly, I used an Elixir of Lightning Speed with some of my haste gear just to get my spells to pop off faster.  I also used Elixir of Mighty Thoughts, and I did partake in the Fish Feast. 

The other “mechanics” of this fight are as you have read on sites like WoWWiki and TankSpot.

If you have any tips, please share!

Happy Raiding!

Exxy

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] on Uncle Fester tonight.  Seeing him go down in 10-man and taking the healing strategy from there and applying it tonight should help out a bit.  I look forward- oh boy do I- to reporting a […]

    Reply

  2. […] so good.  He is one HELL of a boss.  On 25, main tank healing requires coordination much like the 10-man.  We had two MT healers on the 2 tanks.  Both were paladins.  We also had a disc priest who […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

