Rudimentary Healing


I guess you could call it “Old School Healing.”  “Healing Without A Crutch”.. sans Healbot and Grid.  The thought of it freaks me out, and I am actually embarrassed to admit it.

But I have been faced with this twice this week, and I have failed miserably. 

The first time, Onyxia’s frickin’ whelps drove my laptop to insanity.  The game literally locked up and shut down.  When I came back, every name except mine disappeared from the perfect little Healbot raid frame.  There was no way to get it back- or at least I could not think- for the life of the tank- how to get it back.  So, I used whatever spell I had on my bars.  Sad to say, all the spells programmed in my mouse are NOT on my bars. 

The second time (today), I logged on to heal the heroic daily right after updating Healbot.  All I could see were warnings about lua-this, lua-that, and lua-missing-the-other-lib.  I told the group of guildies, “You may have to find another healer.  I have to fix this toon.”  And I did, by re-downloading the previous version of the add-on.  Crisis averted; however, it is so very clear to me now.

I have to find some way to re-learn basic WoW healing.  It was the only way I knew to heal at one point!  Of course, that was before I was introduced to the World of Add-ons.  The Universe of Crutches.  “Curses” on you! 🙂

Healing add-ons are probably the best and worst thing that can happen to a new healer.  On the one hand, you have a tool that will help you heal more effectively and easily.  On the other hand, you end up “Healbot Handicapped” and “Grid+Clique Disabled.”

So, I am going back in time somewhat.  Going “back-to-school.”  I will try healing a few five-mans without add-ons.  I may even try to make a few mouseover macros.  That’s not “cheating,” right?

If you have any suggestions for my little experiment, please share!  Show me your macros, people!  I want to be ready the next time I have a healing panic attack.

Happy Raiding!

Exxy

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vespers on December 5, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Actually I have had exactly the same thing happen with the whelps. Grid only snaps back to life when I come out of combat. The thing is, Clique actually still works. Most often I am tank healing so it’s just /target tank and click away on their unit frame. It’d be nice to be able to see the rest of the raid though, just sayin,

    After logging in, doing /rl will sometimes fix the problem. Both Healbot and Grid are affected by this. Maybe has something to do with addon startup order, and exactly when the WoW client becomes aware that you are part of a group after a DC…

    I can’t imagine properly healing for any length of time without raidframes of some sort though. What do you do if you can’t see everyone’s health and target them at the very
    least?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Codi on December 5, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Mouseover macros are a great way to get away from Clique and allow you to learn not to keyboard turn, too. I highly suggest using them as a way to get away from being “Healbot Handicapped,” as you say. 🙂 The default raid frames take up a lot of space, if you’re trying to go purely base UI, and don’t give any indicators of class, but it does show debuffs, so you won’t be totally gimped on that front. Going back to completely basic can be confusing, but I think it’s worth it, just to remain at the top of your game. I do it at least one raid every couple of months to break myself of any nasty habits. 😀

    Reply

  3. I don’t use Grid or Clique or Healbot when I heal. I use Smart Debuff as my raid frames (it sorts the players by class, not group). I set my right click to renew, my alt right to dispel, my left to target, and my alt left to abolish disease. Smart Debuff shows health, mana, and will even put up a dummy “R” or “L” for disease and magic dispels. No macros, just a bar with some heals on it and a frame with buttons to target. I’m not sure if it is ideal, but it works for me.

    Reply

  4. Ahh, very good suggestions. I have thought about just pulling the groups out of the raid tab, clicking and pushing a heal button. But that’s an extra step. Gotta be fast! Thanks for the comments!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Doug on December 7, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Interestingly enough, I healed completely without mods from when I started playing (patch 1.1) until I got to BT/Hyjal. I just pulled the parties out of the raid tab and went to town. All of my heals were (and still are) keybound somewhere accessible. The trick to healing like this (if you could call it one) is to click the target in need of a heal, then hit the keybind, then while the heal is casting (or during the GCD), click the next target in need of healing, then just continue that as needed.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mezzo on January 3, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    I’ve healed without add-ons for all of my time playing WoW (sine release with a couple breaks here and there). I tried add-ons once and it felt too foreign to me. I’d like to think I’m a better healer because I haven’t relied on them. I generally don’t use any add-ons (a couple officers finally caught me not using the “required” raid add-ons when we were doing tier 5, but by then they figured if I could play well enough without them, it didn’t matter). If you can learn to do without them, good. Even if you have them still, only use them for dicey raids. IMO-
    skill>gear. Yes there is skill to it.

    Reply

  7. […] I disabled it.  Thank goodness I did not delete it because it was all I had to heal.  (Yeah, the rudimentary healing thing never really worked out.) Yeah, um, Exxy, you were supposed to HEAL […]

    Reply

  8. Posted by Phil on March 9, 2010 at 3:30 am

    This is the way I heal is that I have, greater heal on Q key then flash heal on E key. My renew is Z key and beach ball heal forgot the name on X key. My removing diseases and magic spells are on my mouse wheel when I scroll up or down.
    My movement keys are W,A,D,S. My friend said that I needed to use healbot it would make healing easier, at first I was like ok tried it and lets just say group I was in crashed and burn. So I got rid of it and went old school healing, never had any complaints and my friends are very impressed. All the clicking I do is the side bar of the party and have my key binds memorized.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

