Healing In Cataclysm


MMO-Champion highlighted a Blizz Blue Post about healing in Catalcysm today, and I found it interesting- and maybe a little confusing even.  The word “efficiency” keeps getting thrown around here.  Blizz says “…efficiency will matter.”  I have to be honest, I may keep an eye on my mana pool, but I don’t really stress about mana too much now. I generally send the Shadowfiend out at 50% anyway.  I use my one alloted mana pot if I have to, and if very desperate I may call for Innervate or just sing a Hymn of Hope- both rare happenings.

But it appears I may have to adjust when Cataclysm comes out.  The way this reads, the fights will be long.  The healing required will be more advanced, and mana could become an issue- unless of course, the healers truly do take working as a “team” to the next level.  The post mentions coordination among healers being a “bigger deal.” 

Also, our mana efficiency will sort of depend on a tank’s avoidance.  I mean I would think it does now.  (Squishy DK tanks).  I know very little- if anything honestly- about avoidance, but I can see many a healer complaining about a tank not having enough dodge, parry, etc. when Cataclysm comes out.  Instead of the healers always getting the blame, we can blame the tank. 😉  Just kidding, can’t run a raid without a tank.  And I love our tanks (WKN Tanks are pretty darn awesome), but I could see a truly cataclysmic raid scenario going like this:

“I don’t like your stats, Tank.  I can’t just bubble you the whole time.  Like really, you gotta fix this.  Anyone in here a jewelcrafter.. enchanter?  I got an anvil in my back pocket.  One sec… We gotta fix this NOW!”

Blizz says “saving healer mana becomes as important as being able to take the next hit.”  (Wow, hope my hubby’s DK will be up to speed. 😉 )

I sort of like this part of the post, though.  I can see Cataclysm will be a real challenge.

As an aside, healers will actually need enough healing tools and enough distinction among them so that they are really choosing the big, expensive heal vs. the small, cheap heal vs. the fast, expensive heal, to name just a few examples. (Source)

I generally use Flash Heal, Renew, Greater Heal, Prayer of Mending, Circle of Healing, Binding Heal, and Prayer of Healing.  Oh, don’t forget Holy Nova.   What else can they put on our plate?  I do have a few buttons left on my mouse to program.  Oh, I can’t wait!  It’s gonna be hard!  Yay!

I would like to hear your thoughts on this.

 Happy Raiding!

Exxy

Leave a Reply

