Priest Healing Trial of the Crusader Part One


I’ve been seeing a lot of searches for the title of this post. While I do not claim to be an expert, I’ve been healing the 10 and 25-regular of this for months and months.  I have done 10 and 25 heroic for while, too.  More success in hero 10 than 25 hero though- LOL.

Anyway.. I figured I would walk you through what I do during the fights.  Gormak, the worms and Icehowl are up first!

Northrend Beasts: Gormak

The priests usually start out levitating all the ranged toons.  This mitigates the fire bombs and works especially well in hero (due to the nasty tick the fire bomb leaves behind.)  No fire damage equals better survival.  I also try to re-levitate toons when the levitate wears off.  I programmed my mouse to shift+mouse wheel to re-levitate quickly.  I am usually assigned to raid heals.  So I keep renew, PW:S and PoM on the tanks.  I try to hit CoH along with PoM if necessary (they are both on ~6 second CD), especially when Gormak does his stomp on melee.  Please see the My Healing Style post about my Serendipity rotation.

Of course, getting snobolled! sucks.  So just try to Renew or Binding Heal your way through it.  Hopefully, the dps won’t too long to get it off you.

Northrend Beasts: Big Worms

Healers usually try to stay in the middle of the circle there, so that when you get the green poison (I forget what it is called), the tank or whoever can run by and cleanse the ranged almost immediately.  I just heal like regular paying close attention to those with the debuff.  Pop a HoT on them and keep going.

Northrend Beasts: Icehowl

I use the same healing style for the most part, except you mught want to keep a close eye on Deadly Boss Mods for the Massive Crash countdown.  Make sure your back is facing the wall while healing so that you can strafe once you hit the wall.  Also, BEFORE the Massive Crash, pop a renew on as many people as possible- including YOU.  Bubble them, too, if possible.  This will really help in heroic when the crash truly is MASSIVE. I posted this before, but here it goes again. 

Divine Hymn Macro
We ran with two priests tonight: 1 holy (me) and 1 disc. We took turns “singing” our Divine Hymn after the Massive Crashes to heal up the raid.. I took the first one. He took the second. I made a simple macro that casts Inner Focus, then uses my Talisman of Resurgence trinket BEFORE casting the Divine Hymn. Seems like a lot of time to do it, but the macro makes it easy. One touch, and it’s all done. Really nice heals for the duration of the spell. I choose to use Inner Focus because DH takes 63% of your base mana. It costs me a nice chunk at 2068 mana. Here is the macro:

/cast Inner Focus
/use Talisman of Resurgence
/cast Divine Hymn

That’s all I can think of right now.  I will post Part Two later today.  We will discuss Jaraxxus and the Faction Champs!  If you have any tips, please share them here!

Happy Raiding,

Exxy!

6 responses to this post.

  1. […] PDRTJS_settings_823582_post_203 = { "id" : "823582", "unique_id" : "wp-post-203", "title" : "Priest+Healing+Trial+of+the+Crusader+Part+Two", "item_id" : "_post_203", "permalink" : "http%3A%2F%2Fomgpriest.wordpress.com%2F2009%2F11%2F30%2Fpriest-healing-trial-of-the-crusader-part-two%2F" } This is Part Two of Priest Healing Trial of the Crusader.  You can find Part One here. […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Doug on December 1, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Don’t forget to aviod PW:S if you are Holy and there’s a Disc priest assigned to tank heals. That one really makes them frustrated!

    Also, dont be afraid to PoH the tank group when impale is ticking on 3 tanks.

    Reply

  3. […] } We are now on the Twin Val’kyr.  You can find the Northrend Beasts here and Lord Jaraxxus […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by wonderand on December 1, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    A guildie told me last night that Blizzard is considering the levitate trick an exploit and may start suspending/banning people for it. I can’t find the blue post to support this claim, but it may be worth checking into.

    Reply

    • OMG.. Wow! That would suck as I see it as a way to use your talents for good. It’s not like taking your level 18 warlocks and making soulstones for every raid member. Now THAT would be cheating. I am going to have to look that up! Thanks for the heads up!

      Reply

  5. […] who die on a weekly basis.  If you are looking for previous bosses are found at these links: Northrend Beasts, Jaraxxus and Faction Champs, Twin […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

