A survey for healers


I saw this on Bob Turkey’s blog and tracked it back to Miss Medicina.  All the other healers who have done it made for interesting reading. So here are my answers to the questions.   Her instructions were to answer the same questions on your blog.  And post who you got it from and who you are sending it to.  I don’t really have any friends in the blogosphere yet.. so I guess you- whoever you may be- will have to do!

  • What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer? Exanna, Holy Priest
  • What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans) 25 mans and 10 mans mostly
  • What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why? I love Divine Hymn because it’s quite remarkable to me!  I wish I could use it more often, but I guess that would be cheating and make healing boring.
  • What healing spell do you use least for your class and why? Just plain old “Heal.”  I never put it in my Healbot or on my UI.
  • What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why? We can raid heal or tank heal, and we have SO MANY spells to   from.
  • What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why? We have to stand still an awful lot.  Sometimes I wish I could run around like a tree throwing my branches in the air!
  • In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?  I love to raid heal!  I like the challenge, and sometimes tank healing gets sort of boring depending on the fight.  I don’t mind tank healing.  I just prefer raid heals.
  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?  It really depends on the fight. I find a good combo is a Pally, Priest, Druid or a  Shaman, Priest, Druid.
  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why? I don’t want to sound picky.
  • What is your worst habit as a healer? Overhealing… truly.  I will just heal, heal, heal just to be sure no one dies!  You run out of mana that way.  So I try to keep my overheals in check.
  • What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing? People will blame the healers for everything.. lol.  Sometimes it’s our fault, but if you continue to stand in blue stuff, fire, or consistently pull aggro, you may die.
  • Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing? Yes, I do.  We have so many talents that are unique to us.  No one else can sing a Divine Hymn or save a lie with angel wings! Gimme a halo!
  • What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer? I am not a meter maid, but some people in the guild are.  I look at it this way: if my heals are effective and people are alive, then I would hope I did my job well.
  • What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class? Some may think we are weak b/c we wear cloth or something dumb like that.  Sometimes they would rather have another class heal them just because.  But priests are good raid healers.  Priests are good tank healers.  And we can throw a few dots on a boss in a pinch.
  • What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn? I don’t want to call it a rotation, but stacking Serendipity and knowing when to cast a bigger heal off the proc.  Or when to use a spell like Divine Hymn and how.  Or when you cast a flash heal when a renew will do.  It’s all situational, and new priests must learn how to react with the best spell.
  • If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)? I seem to fall in the middle of the healers on a 25-man when it comes to Recount.  My overheals seem to fall on average with everyone else, although I think we as a unit overheal quite a bit.  It also depends on the fight.  In something like Faction Champs, you are likely to see more dispels from me than anything.
  • Haste or Crit and why? I go back and forth on this.  Right now, I am in love with haste, but I can’t ignore my crit.  Tonight, I ran at about 638 haste and 18.24% crit.  It seemed to work well.  My spells pop off faster which means I get to heal my target quicker.  And with that, high crit means those spells really do become more effective.
  • What healing class do you feel you understand least? TBH, every other class but my own.
  • What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing? I use Bartender, Healbot, Trinket Menu, Power Auras, Mik’s Scrolling Battle Text. I also use a macro that will cast Inner Focus, then pop my Talisman of Resurgence before casting Divine Hymn.
  • Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why? Balance is always good, and if something gets out of whack I will usually figure it out pretty quickly, and I can’t I research to find out what is going on.  Ex: With my current gear I was stacking +23SP in red slots, but soon figured out, for some of those, I needed a hybrid gem to balance out the rest of my stats for performance.  It’s all trial and error- no matter the expense. 🙂
  • 4 responses to this post.

    1. woohoo! more priest answers!

      Reply

    2. Posted by Doug on November 18, 2009 at 9:26 am

      I see you mentioned overhealing…This was(is) a very heavily debated topic over on the plusheal forums (which incidentally lead me here).

      Consider the following:
      Overhealing is a waste of both mana and time.

      Mana not wasted on overhealing = more mana to use later (if needed).

      Time is the most often overlooked component of overheal. How could that time have been better utilized? I know you mentioned that you werent a ‘meter maid’ but going through the log and picking out insances where you were doing alot of overheal, and analyzing what you could have done differently will not only increase your efficiency, but your throughput as well. If you have any doubts on this particular point, just consider how you value haste. More healing capability in less time.

      On the haste or crit topic (since I dont have a blog) I say neither. I am more of an old school spell power and regen type. Crit provides some nice buffs (Holy Concentration, Surge of Light, and Inspiration) while Haste is a throughput + anti-regen stat. I find that both (when acquired naturally) benefit you, but not nearly as much being able to use the correct heal for the situation, and have it come out just a bit larger (via SP scaling). I typically run with the following buffed stats 3.2k SP, 20% crit, ~250 haste rating, and 1100/700 mana regen. I’m usually in the 3500-4000 HPS range for typical boss fights, and as high as 8k+ on twin valkyre in ToC25.

      Reply

    3. Thanks, Doug! Saying I’m not a meter maid, means I don’t stress over my numbers versus other people’s numbers, Some people make a big deal about l healing done overall- which is a no go for me since I generally come in third or fourth on that. You are right though, I do try to look over which is heal is most effective in a fight and what I can do better. I wish someone- other than me lol- would run wws of our raids. That would help me out a lot.

      Reply

      • Posted by Doug on November 19, 2009 at 7:42 am

        It shouldn’t be too difficult to convince a DPS to handle uploading a parse (preferrably the one that is spamming meters in raid, or just brags about their DPS) and have them link it on the guild website.

        Reply

    Leave a Reply

